69 ARRAN RD, CRAWFORDVILLE, FL 32327 - PHONE: 850-926-0065 - FAX: 850-926-0123
Five Wakulla Odyssey of the Mind Teams Qualify for State Competition

Five Wakulla County Odyssey of the Mind teams qualified for State competition after winning first place in their categories and divisions at Nature Coast Regional competition on February 22 held at Riversprings Middle School.


Teams from Crawfordville Elementary, Medart Elementary, Wakulla Middle, and two teams from Wakulla High School will compete on April 11 at the State Odyssey of the Mind event in Orlando.


Riversprings Middle School came in with second place in their division. The Shadeville Elementary team took on a Primary Problem open to grades kindergarten through 2, a division which is not eligible to compete on the State level. 


The Nature Coast Region consists of elementary, middle, and high school teams from Dixie, Franklin, Gadsden, Jefferson, Lafayette, Leon, Liberty, Madison, Taylor, and Wakulla counties.  It is open to public, private and charter schools.


State winners go directly to the World Finals where over 800 teams from 33 U.S. states and 15 countries will be competing at Iowa State University May 27-30.


In two out of the past three years, Wakulla High School teams have made it to World Finals. 


Advancing teams include:


Crawfordville Elementary (grades 3-5), coached by teachers Kirsten Brazier and Heather Hatfield.  Members are Sophia Stolk, Laila Francis, Penelope Brazier, Tyler Steward, Corbin Ferreira, and Trinity Eugene.


Medart Elementary, coached by Melissa Hill and Sandra Whaley. Members are Brayden Britt, Nevaeh Cherry, Maddie McGuire, O’ren McMillan, Isaac Murray, Ava Pope, and Seth Ward.


Wakulla Middle, coached by teachers Nicholle Burke and Morgan Jackson. Team members are Peter Arbogast, Cole Randolph, Izzy Ayotte, Aaron Jones, Kyrin Hand, and Kyra Ferreira.


Wakulla High School, fielding two teams working on two different problems, both coached by teacher Susan Shiver.  One team consists of Abigail Gray, Abbi Hatfield, Ally Harden, Zoie Hill, “Jay” Jacob, and Travis Morgan.     


The second WHS team consists of Tristan Silcox, Chase Morgan, Farrah Bratcher and Kiera Cushard. 


Odyssey of the Mind is a non-profit organization that was founded in 1978 by Industrial Design professor Dr. Sam Micklus to encourage students to “think outside the box” in finding creative solutions. 


Problems include technical, mechanical, communication, structural, engineering, and performance aspects.  Teamwork is a key element to success.


Odyssey is for students in grades kindergarten through college, with scholarships offered at the higher levels.


“Best of luck in Orlando to our five teams that are advancing.  Odyssey of the Mind is one of many activities in the Wakulla County school system that encourages teamwork and creative problem solving, both great life skills to have,” says Superintendent of Wakulla County Schools Bobby Pearce.